United Airlines Versus Your Worst Travel Experiences

By now I’m sure we’ve all seen the footage of a doctor being dragged of a United Airlines flight, if not, climb out from under your rock and check it out here.

 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VrDWY6C1178

While the fact that this one turned violent was the most shocking aspect of it, I think we’ve all had our less than memorable travel experiences.

For me it was a bus journey, or rather a mini-bus journey from Vang Vieng, the home of tubing and therefore monster hangovers, to Luang Prabang in Laos. While Google Maps will tell you that it’s a three and a half hour journey, let me tell you now, it is not! It’s not even close. Factor in  my birthday the day before along with a day of tubing and drinking local whiskey, and you have all the ingredients for a nightmare waiting to happen.

When our “VIP” bus arrived, it was quickly apparent that it was not for very important people. Because I was the last one on, I had the pleasure of sitting in the front between the insane driver, and and a 60 year old local man who somehow managed to sleep the entire way. To summaries the trip, it was:

  • 7 hours long
  • Stopped for forty minutes because a truck had crashed on the road, in the middle of nowhere
  • Some of the worst road surfaces I have ever seen
  • Some of the windiest roads I have ever been on as the journey passes through the mountains
  • The driver constantly beeped the horn – as in every 30 seconds, for six hours!
  • The air conditioning was about as powerful as a mouse breathing
  • To top it all off, the driver also ran over a puppy which, had I been in the back I would have missed, but because I was in the front, and in an emotionally hungover state, I witnessed it all 😦

I know there are longer journeys out there, and I am sure there are worse roads to travel. However, the combination of bad roads, bad drivers and bad hangovers made this one of my worst travel experiences.

Have you had a worse experience? Comment below and share with the rest of us.

Leave a Reply

